New Release: Called by Robert J. Crane (Dark Fantasy)

by | February 28, 2014

Robert J. Crane, author of popular book Alone (The Girl in the Box), has released two novels in his new Southern Watch series. Called is book 1 of Southern Watch, published by Reikonos Press. Book 2, Depths, also released this month.

Archibald “Arch” Stan was a local cop in Midian, Tennessee that was good at his job, good at being a husband, and exceptionally good at hiding his disappointment at not being able to figure out what was missing in his life that made it all seem so empty.

Lafayette Hendricks looked like a drifter, a broken-down hitchhiker blown through Midian on the prevailing winds. When Arch catches him in a fight on the town square, though, things start to get weird, fast, because the guy he’s fighting doesn’t die when he gets shot. And Hendricks is carrying a sword.

Pretty soon, Arch’s whole life is turned upside down by Hendricks’s revelation that there’s a secret world operating under the one he’s been living in his whole life – one filled with demons, chaos, and unspeakable evils, one of which is already in town, stirring trouble. And if the two men don’t band together to keep watch on the darkness falling on Midian, then this small town might just get swallowed up by the forces of evil – with the rest of the world to follow shortly behind.

WARNING: Contains violence, coarse language and sexual situations.

Called was released on February 3, 2014, and is 173 pages long. Its release price is $0.99.

The Lady Scribe’s Notes: Called, and many other titles by Robert J. Crane, are shorter pieces, with some of them better classified as novellas than full-fledged novels. There are some notable similarities to The Dresden Files in the sample, particularly in the main character’s duster. The writing from the sample was quiet enjoyable, resulting in an add to the Lady Scribe’s to-buy list. Fans of The Dresden Files might appreciate this series — if the gritty inclusion of violence, language, and sex doesn’t get in the way.

Other Titles by Robert J. Crane:

The Girl in the Box

  1. Alone
  2. Untouched
  3. Soulless
  4. Family
  5. Omega
  6. Broken
  7. Enemies
  8. Legacy

The Sanctuary Series

  1. Defender
  2. Avenger
  3. Champion
  4. Crusader

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *